Home Sites Kandy Dalada maligawa

Kandy Dalada maligawa

Temple of the Tooth Relic consists of three main buildings. They are the Vedahiti Maligaya, Pattirippuwa and Aluth Maligawa. Temple of the Tooth in Kandy was first built by King Vimaladharmasooriya I (1593 – 1603 A.D.) but those structures built by him are not found any more. Between 1593 – 1603 A.D King Vimaladharmasooriya II constructed a three storied building to house the Sacred Tooth Relic. During the reign of King Sri Wickrama Rajasingha, (1798 – 1815 A.D) the front section with the Pattirippuwa (Octagon) was built by Devendra Moolacarya, the Architect. The king is supposed to have addressed  the people from this building.